Review
Filter RSS

Your rating
Review this project

2022-11-05 08:16
Review by DOM

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
THE PRESENTATION OF THE NEW RELEASE ISS WELL DONE

2022-10-12 14:50
Review by LinuxLiteUser

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
I liked it, but it was not as great as Ubuntu

2022-09-21 02:15
Review by Artim

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
"Bestest, most wonderfulest and awesomeful Linux distro in the history of ever!" Works well on modest hardware. Highly modified Xfce desktop is infinitely configurable yet free of the bling and bloat that so many Xfce distros add. "Lite Widget" is the only thing I can completely do without, but it's easily turned off. Conventional wisdom says that ease of use is supposed to be a trade-off: The easier the graphical user interface, the slower the computing and processing speed. LINUX LITE DEFIES THAT OLD AXIOM. Super-simple GUI lets even a user like me who is ordinarily scared of technology use a computer fearlessly WITHOUT LOSING SPEED. I don't know how they did it, but they sure did it well. "Xubuntu Done Right" is another way of describing Linux Lite. And before coming here to Linux Lite from first Linux Mint, and then Xubuntu, "Xubu done right" is exactly descriptive of this fine, underrated distro.
Pros
GREAT FOR NEWBIES, even more so than Linux Mint in my opinion, because of little things that really matter, like: * Applications are named for their function. A newbie wouldn't know what Thunar is (besides Thor's hammer, perhaps). So in Linux Lite it is called "File Manager." Sure it's just a little thing, but very thoughtful and helpful to new computer users. That's just one example. *Mind-bending SPEED despite the super-simple, pointy-and-clicky interface. *Good for grandpas and grandmas as well as a kid's first computer (say, middle school age and up) because of the straightforward terms and intuitive layout of this highly modified Xfce desktop. *LITE TWEAKS allows even a Ba'aku boy like me (from a race of people who fled from technology because it almost destroyed us) update, clean, and maintain the operating system (even cleaning systemd logs with a click!). *Terrific support in a friendly forum - one in which the Lead Developer participates regularly. *Snaps disabled by default because they're stupid and for all practical purposes, proprietary.
Cons
*Systemd. It's huge and becomes ginormous over time. Easily cleaned up with a click in Lite Tweaks at least, but if systemd is a deal breaker for you, then skip this distro and almost every other Linux distro except Slackware and Devuan. *You gotta use PPAs or Flatpaks for some of the most popular applications, including Firefox for cry'n out loud. Having a few of the popular PPAs pre-installed and enabled in future releases could mitigate this. Otherwise the default apps are fine for most users. But for Google-haters like me it's an annoyance to be removed and replaced.

2022-01-13 20:11
Review by Garyaltenburger

Rating:
(0 of 2 people found this review helpful)
For an old laptop over Ubuntu. Laptop is old and slow.

2021-04-04 20:34
Review by Rehan

Rating:
(0 of 2 people found this review helpful)
Saya ingit dowload program linux

2020-03-17 08:59
Review by LinuxCubamas

Rating:
(2 of 3 people found this review helpful)
TL;DR - Quite fast, even on 4k monitor with old desktop. I was rehabbing an old dell desktop, purchased in 2010. It has a very low end graphics card, just enough to handle the 4k LG screen it is attached to. Now, this is why I write a review. After trying Mint and Ubuntu. The installs would not go through, live de would not boot or bootloader got corrupted. Lost about 2 hours time in downloading and trying several fixes. Then, found Linux Lite and it just worked! Netflix and Amazon video just fine. As this desktop was basically to be used as a TV, during this Corona outbreak. Thank you! - Oakland California, March 2020.

2020-03-16 00:49
Review by Max

Rating:
(1 of 1 people found this review helpful)
great Linux indeed!!! maybe best for old computers!!!

2020-02-05 13:43
Review by atomgreed2255

Rating:
(2 of 3 people found this review helpful)
Very good distro . Light on resources . Upgrading is simple . Good for VM .
Pros
This is the most stylish light weight distro you can get . Every other light weight distro is UGLY in look . Whereas Linux Lite is quite Beautiful . Also it's the only distro I could smoothly run on a virtual machine . Every other distro failed due to various reasons . Lastly easy to upgrade . I upgraded from 4.6 to 4.8 literally with a few clicks .
Cons
32 bit hardware is not supported . That's not a big issue now

2019-12-21 04:08
Review by RunningWide

Rating:
(2 of 2 people found this review helpful)
I think that this a very easy and usefull version of Linux. Thanks